The Zodiac: Structuring the Unstructured

A zodiac sign is a 30º division of the zodiac wheel. Each of the twelve signs is associated with a different archetype or energy which is expressed in a person’s natal chart through different placements and positions. In tropical astrology (which is the most popular study of astrology in the West), the zodiac signs are not measured directly based off the positions of the constellations corresponding to each sign. 

What are the different zodiac signs?


  • Symbolized by the Ram
  • Defined by raw energy, aggression, competition, and leadership
  • Ruled by Mars, the planet of drive and anger
  • Rules the First House, the house of expression and identity
  • Element: Fire
  • Modality: Cardinal


  • Symbolized by the Bull
  • Defined by beauty, gluttony, materialism, and sensitivity
  • Ruled by Venus, the planet of beauty and art
  • Rules the Second House, the house of possession
  • Element: Earth
  • Modality: Fixed


  • Symbolized by the Twins
  • Defined by wittiness, sociability, adaptability, and language
  • Ruled by Mercury, the planet of communication
  • Rules the Third House, the house of communication
  • Element: Air
  • Modality: Mutable


  • Symbolized by the Crab
  • Defined by maternity, intuition, compassion, and moodiness
  • Ruled by the Moon, the planet of emotions and our inner child
  • Rules the Fourth House, the house of our home life and roots
  • Element: Water
  • Modality: Cardinal


  • Symbolized by the Lion
  • Defined by expression, sexuality, affection, and pride
  • Ruled by the Sun, the planet of identity
  • Rules the Fifth House, the house of creativity and sex
  • Element: Fire
  • Modality: Fixed


  • Symbolized by the Virgin
  • Defined by selflessness, analysis, criticism, and practicality
  • Ruled by Mercury, the planet of mental processes
  • Rules the Sixth House, the house of service and health
  • Element: Earth
  • Modality: Mutable


  • Symbolized by the Scales
  • Defined by elegance, tranquility, romance, and interaction
  • Ruled by Venus, the planet of relationships
  • Rules the Seventh House, the house of partnerships
  • Element: Air
  • Modality: Cardinal


  • Symbolized by the Scorpion
  • Defined by jealousy, passion, secrets, and intensity
  • Ruled by Pluto, the planet of secrets and destruction
  • Rules the Eighth House, the house of death and transformation
  • Element: Water
  • Modality: Fixed


  • Symbolized by the Archer
  • Defined by honesty, philosophy, travel, and restlessness
  • Ruled by Jupiter, the planet of expansion and luck
  • Rules the Ninth House, the house of ideals and philosophy
  • Element: Fire
  • Modality: Mutable


  • Symbolized by the Sea Goat
  • Defined by ambition, strength, greed, and security
  • Ruled by Saturn, the planet of limitation and authority
  • Rules the Tenth House, the house of reputation and careers
  • Element: Earth
  • Modality: Cardinal


  • Symbolized by the Waterbearer
  • Defined by innovation, objectivity, eccentricity, and independence
  • Ruled by Uranus, the planet of progression and technology
  • Rules the Eleventh House, the house of hopes and friendships
  • Element: Air
  • Modality: Fixed


  • Symbolized by the Fish
  • Defined by creativity, otherworldliness, dreams, and idealism
  • Ruled by Neptune, the planet of illusions and mysticism
  • Rules the Twelfth House, the house of secrets and sacrifice
  • Element: Water
  • Modality: Mutable

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s